A Fond Farewell and Final Top 10

Dear Friends and Readers,

Rather than let things end with a whimper, it seems the time has come to formally bring down the final curtain on Moving Pictures.  It has become clear, given the increasingly sporadic publications over the last year or so, that I no longer have the time to give this platform the attention it needs; therefore, this will be my last entry.  It has been such a pleasure to share my thoughts with you over the last few years on this magical form that we call cinema, and I sincerely want to thank every single person who has taken the time to read them.

Film continues to be a deeply rooted passion of mine, and I hope that some of these articles have made you think, perhaps turned you on to a few movies you otherwise might not have seen, and maybe gave you just an ounce more appreciation for the craftsmanship and artistry of the medium.  Most importantly though, I believe that films’ greatest value is to act as (to quote Roger Ebert) “empathy machines.”  Fostering our capacity to understand the lives of other people is, in my opinion, imperative to the continuance of humanity and all the good that can come from it.  I believe it is in no way grandiose to say that movies can help us do this.

I want to give a special thanks to my old friend Shaun McGuire, who assisted me technically in putting this blog together, and my wife and editor Della for helping make these articles readable (and for her love of course).

Rather than end with a simple goodbye, I’d like to sign off with my top ten list for 2016 (very late as usual).  A few will be linked to past reviews, but as you can see, I’ve mostly just listed titles.  2016 was a particularly good year and I hope you will look to some of the many other great film review websites out there to learn more (I’m partial to AV Club for snarky but competent criticism, as well as the network of Indiewire related sites).

Again, thank you all for your support!

Most Sincerely,

Ian Nester Moran

 

MOVING PICTURES’ BEST FILMS OF 2016

10.  La La Land (Dir. Damien Chazelle)

9.  Louder Than Bombs (Dir. Joachim Trier)

8.  The Witch (Dir. Robert Eggers)

7.  Christine (Dir. Antonio Campos)

6.  O.J.: Made in America (Dir. Ezra Edelman)

5.  American Honey (Dir. Andrea Arnold)

4.  Krisha (Dir. Trey Edward Shults)

3.  Manchester by the Sea (Dir. Kenneth Lonergan)

2.  The Lobster (Dir. Yorgos Lanthimos)

1.  Moonlight (Dir. Barry Jenkins)

Leave a Reply

